Rotax Max Challenge Malaysia & Asia Max Challenge 2012 Round 2

Rotax Max Challenge Malaysia & Asia Max Challenge 2012 Round 2
PLUS Speedway
17 – 18 March 2012

The second round of the Rotax Max Challenge (RMC) and Asia Max Challenge (AMC) was held at PLUS Speedway in Subang, Malaysia again and Sean was there to compete in the Senior category which fielded 27 drivers this time.

It was a very competitive field with drivers from the region – including Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Indonesia and Japan – gathering to race. Of the 27 drivers, 22 qualified within one second of the fastest time.

After decent practice sessions on Friday, Sean was showing good pace during the morning warm-up laps on Saturday when he was 8th fastest, but qualifying was a disaster as he was unable to get a clear run for a hot lap before his new tyres went off. Thereafter, Sean and the rest of his team-mates from IS Racing unfortunately faced engine and chassis problems for the remaining of the weekend.

Having qualified 19th, Sean finished 12th in Heat 1 but got involved in a crash with a driver from another team in Heat 2 and had to retire from Heat 2 early. Starting 19th in the pre-final, Sean lost some places at the start due to his engine bogging down but fought back to finish 13th.

Encountering the same engine problem again at the start of the final, Sean worked hard to make up positions. The last 10 laps of the 25-lap race got really intense for him as he was literally breathing down his team-mate’s neck and closing in on him, finally finishing less than a second behind him in 12th place.

He said, “It was a bad weekend for the whole team really. Our highest finishing driver was only 7th place. We have been facing issues with the karts the last few races but I have confidence in the team and we will work hard to get these sorted so we can start fighting the boys at the front!”

Sean’s results:

Qualifying – 19th
Heat 1 – 12th
Heat 2 – DNF
Pre-Final – 13th
Final – 12th

There will be a two-month break before the next round that will be held on 12 – 13 May at Sepang.